马来西亚是亚洲糖尿病发病率最高的国家,在全球范围内糖尿病的发病率也居于高位,可能仅次于沙乌地阿拉伯。他还补充道,在马来西亚,约有250万的成年人患有糖尿病。

马来西亚糖尿病协会(NADI)执行主席Mustaffa Embong表示,

什么是糖尿病?

糖尿病是当胰腺产生不足够的胰岛素(调节血糖的激素)时,或者当身体不能使用其产生的胰岛素时发生的慢性疾病。

胰岛素是由胰腺产生的一种荷尔蒙,它起着关键作用,帮助血液中的葡萄糖进入细胞给身体供能。所有碳水化合物食物都能够分解成血液中的葡萄糖。胰岛素就像打开门的钥匙,使得葡萄糖能够进入细胞。因此,若身体不能产生胰岛素或有效使用它,那么这情况会导致血液中的葡萄糖水平升高(称为高血糖症)。长期性的高葡萄糖水平会损害身体器官,导致各种器官和组织衰竭。

糖尿病的类型

1型糖尿病
它通常由自身免疫反应引起,身体的防御系统攻击产生胰岛素的细胞。患有1型糖尿病的人产生少量的或完全没有产生胰岛素。任何年龄层人士都可能换上1型糖尿病,但是它最常发生在儿童或年轻人身上。患有1型糖尿病的人士需要每天注射胰岛素以控制血液中的葡萄糖水平。
2型糖尿病
亦称成人型糖尿病,此类型糖尿病占所有糖尿病病例约90%。主要由胰岛素抵抗及胰岛素相对缺乏引起的糖尿病,只要出现其中一种或两种特征,皆能诊断为2型糖尿病。2型糖尿病能够发生在任何年龄阶段。患者可能患有2型糖尿病多年而从未发现它的存在,通常只有在发生并发症时、进行进行常规血液或尿糖测试时方才检测发现此ben’yu。此类糖尿病通常(但并非肯定会是)与超重或肥胖有关,因为超重或肥胖体质会导致胰岛素抵抗进而引起高血糖水平。
妊娠期糖尿病(GDM)
是指原先沒有糖尿病症狀的女性,在怀孕時出現高血糖的症狀。全世界每25位孕妇当中就有一位患上妊娠期糖尿病,而这疾病与母亲和婴儿的并发症息息相关。妊娠期糖尿病(GDM)患者通常在分娩结束后会逐渐恢复健康,但是患有妊娠期糖尿病(GDM)的女性及其子女在日后患有2型糖尿病的机率会较高。大约有一半患有妊娠期糖尿病(GDM)的女性在分娩结束后的五年至十年内会发展成2型糖尿病。

风险因素

1型糖尿病风险因素仍在研究中。然而,1型糖尿病患者会增加其家庭成员患上该疾病的风险。环境因素和某些病毒感染也与患1型糖尿病的风险有关。几种风险因素与2型糖尿病有关,包括:
  • 糖尿病家族病史
  • 体重超重
  • 不健康的饮食
  • 缺乏体能活动
  • 年龄增长
  • 高血压
  • 种族
  • 怀孕期间的糖尿病史
  • 怀孕期间营养不良

糖尿病并发症

糖尿病患者患上严重健康问题的风险机率较高。长期高血糖水平可导致严重的疾病,影响患者的心脏和血管、眼睛、肾脏、神经和牙齿。此外,糖尿病与感染风险增加相关。几乎在所有高收入的国家,糖尿病是导致心血管疾病、失明、肾衰竭和导致下肢截肢的主要原因。

只要能够将血糖水平,血压和胆固醇维持在或接近正常水平可以帮助延缓或预防糖尿病并发症。因此,糖尿病患者需要定期监测,以保持血糖稳定。

症状

糖尿病症状取决于您的血糖升高的程度。对有些人而言尤其是患有前期糖尿病或2型糖尿病的人,可能不会再早期出现这些症状。

  • 口渴增加(多饮)
  • 尿频(多尿)
  • 容易饥饿(多食)
  • 不明原因的体重减轻(体重下降)
  • 尿液中出现酮体(酮体是肌肉和脂肪分解的副产品,当没有足够的可用胰岛素时产生酮类)
  • 疲劳
  • 易怒
  • 视野模糊
  • 伤口不易愈合
  • 经常感染,如牙龈或皮肤感染以及阴道感染
diabetes-reverse-ftr (1)
预防糖尿病方法

1型糖尿病无法被预防。然而,前期糖尿病、1型糖尿病、2型糖尿病和妊娠期糖尿病患者可以遵循健康饮食习惯以有效控制及预防糖尿病:

选择白开水,咖啡或茶代替果汁,苏打水或其他含糖饮料。
每天至少吃三份蔬菜,包括绿叶蔬菜。
每天吃三份新鲜水果。
选择坚果,新鲜水果或不加糖的酸奶作为零食。
限制饮酒量,每天最多两杯(标准量)。
选择全麦面包,米饭或面食代替白面包,米饭或面食。
选择不饱和脂肪(橄榄油,菜籽油,玉米油或葵花籽油)代替饱和脂肪(黄油,酥油,动物脂肪,椰子油或棕榈油)。

**建议定期进行检查,尽早发现糖尿病并发症病有效进行预防措施。

治疗糖尿病

在这个信息爆炸的时代,关于糖尿病知识、疗法和预防策略都在不断更新。糖尿病治疗的最终目的是将血糖保持在正常水平范围。因此,自我管理是糖尿病患者在治疗方面不可或缺的一部分。该治疗必须个性化,并且与医疗计划,身心理和生活方式相关。

治疗1型糖尿病
由于1型糖尿病患者的胰腺缺乏胰岛素,这会使该患者难以控制其病情。该治疗需要一种全面方案,包括精心策划的饮食计划,所需活动量,居家血糖测试和每日多次注射胰岛素。
治疗2型糖尿病
该治疗包括饮食控制,适量运动,居家血糖测试,以及在某些情况下需服用药物和/或注射胰岛素。大约40%的2型糖尿病患者需要注射胰岛素以控制病情。

欲知更多有关糖尿病检查以及其管理方法,您可向医生咨询,或致电我们获取更进一步详情。此外,您也可以在此处查看我们的配套。 此处.

"Malaysia has the highest rate of diabetes in Asia and one of the highest in the world, probably next to Saudi Arabia, with 2.5 million Malaysians suffering from diabetes"

Datuk Dr Mustaffa Embong, National Diabetes Institute (Nadi) executive chairman.

What is Diabetes?

Diabetes is a chronic disease that occurs when the pancreas is no longer able to make insulin, or when the body cannot make good use of the insulin it produces.

Insulin is a hormone made by the pancreas, that acts like a key to let glucose from the food we eat pass from the blood stream into the cells in the body to produce energy. All carbohydrate foods are broken down into glucose in the blood. Insulin helps glucose get into the cells. Not being able to produce insulin or use it effectively leads to raised glucose levels in the blood (known as hyperglycaemia). Over the long-term high glucose levels are associated with damage to the body and failure of various organs and tissues.

Types of Diabetis

Type 1 diabetes
It is usually caused by an auto-immune reaction where the body’s defence system attacks the cells that produce insulin. People with type 1 diabetes produce very little or no insulin. The disease may affect people of any age, but usually develops in children or young adults. People with this form of diabetes need injections of insulin every day in order to control the levels of glucose in their blood.
Type 2 diabetes
also known as adult-onset diabetes, and accounts for at least 90% of all cases of diabetes. It is characterised by insulin resistance and relative insulin deficiency, either or both of which may be present at the time diabetes is diagnosed. The diagnosis of type 2 diabetes can occur at any age. Type 2 diabetes may remain undetected for many years and the diagnosis is often made when a complication appears or a routine blood or urine glucose test is done. It is often, but not always, associated with overweight or obesity, which itself can cause insulin resistance and lead to high blood glucose levels.
Gestational diabetes (GDM)
a form of diabetes consisting of high blood glucose levels during pregnancy. It develops in one in 25 pregnancies worldwide and is associated with complications to both mother and baby. GDM usually disappears after pregnancy but women with GDM and their children are at an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes later in life. Approximately half of women with a history of GDM go on to develop type 2 diabetes within five to ten years after delivery.

Risk Factors

The risk factors for type 1 diabetes are still being researched. However, having a family member with type 1 diabetes slightly increases the risk of developing the disease. Environmental factors and exposure to some viral infections have also been linked to the risk of developing type 1 diabetes. Several risk factors have been associated with type 2 diabetes and include:
  • Family history of diabetes
  • Overweight
  • Unhealthy diet
  • Physical inactivity
  • Increasing age
  • High blood pressure
  • Ethnicity
  • History of diabetes during pregnancy
  • Poor nutrition during pregnancy

Diabetes complications

People with diabetes have an increased risk of developing a number of serious health problems. Consistently high blood glucose levels can lead to serious diseases affecting the heart and blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, nerves and teeth. In addition, people with diabetes also have a higher risk of developing infections. In almost all high-income countries, diabetes is a leading cause of cardiovascular disease, blindness, kidney failure, and lower limb amputation.

Maintaining blood glucose levels, blood pressure, and cholesterol at or close to normal can help delay or prevent diabetes complications. Therefore people with diabetes need regular monitoring.

Symptoms

Diabetes symptoms vary depending on how much your blood sugar is elevated. Some people, especially those with prediabetes or type 2 diabetes, may not experience symptoms initially.

  • Increased thirst
  • Frequent urination
  • Extreme hunger
  • Unexplained weight loss
  • Presence of ketones in the urine (ketones are a byproduct of the breakdown of muscle and fat that happens when there’s not enough available insulin)
  • Fatigue
  • Irritability
  • Blurred vision
  • Slow-healing sores
  • Frequent infections, such as gums or skin infections and vaginal infections
diabetes-reverse-ftr (1)
Diabetes prevention

Type 1 diabetes cannot be prevented. However, it is advisable for Pre-diabetic, type 1 Diabetes, Type 2 Diabetes and Diabetes in pregnancy to follow the recommendations for a healthy diet for the general population:

Choosing water, coffee or tea instead of fruit juice, soda, or other sugar sweetened beverages.
Eating at least three servings of vegetable every day, including green leafy vegetables.
Eating up to three servings of fresh fruit every day.
Choosing nuts, a piece of fresh fruit, or unsweetened yoghurt for a snack.
Limiting alcohol intake to a maximum of two standard drinks per day.
Choosing whole-grain bread, rice, or pasta instead of white bread, rice, or pasta.
Choosing unsaturated fats (olive oil, canola oil, corn oil, or sunflower oil) instead of saturated fats (butter, ghee, animal fat, coconut oil or palm oil.

** Regular screening for early detection and prevention of diabetes and its complication is highly recommended

Treatment of diabetes

Diabetes knowledge, treatment, and prevention strategies advance daily. Treatment is aimed at keeping blood glucose near normal levels at all times. Training in self- management is integral to the treatment of diabetes. Treatment must be individualized and must address medical, psychosocial, and lifestyle issues.

Treatment of type 1 diabetes
Lack of insulin production by the pancreas can make type 1 diabetes difficult to control. Treatment requires a regimen that includes a carefully calculated diet, planned physical activity, home blood glucose testing and multiple daily insulin injections.
Treatment of type 2 diabetes
Treatment includes diet control, exercise, home blood glucose testing, and in some cases, oral medication and/or insulin. Approximately 40% of people with type 2 diabetes require insulin injections.

For further information about diabetes screening and its management, please consult with our doctor today or call us for further information, alternatively you may also check out our packages here.